2012 TCU International Double Bass Festival

Texas Christian University School of Music
March 17-18, 2012
Yuan Lu, Artistic Director


TCU Double Bass Orchestral Competition
First Prize-$1000, Second Prize-$500, Third Prize-$300

featuring recitals by guest artists
Timothy Cobb (Julliard, New York Phil. & Met)
Steve Reeves (Melbourne Symphony, Australia)
Catalin Rotaru (Arizona State University)

and lectures, masterclasses, and clinics
by the following renowned double bass artists and teachers:
George Amorim (UT, Pan-Am)
Jeff Bradetich (North Texas)
William Clay (Ft. Worth Symphony)
Paul Ellison (Rice University)
Blaise Ferrandino (TCU, composer)
Jessica Gilliam-Valls (Southwestern Univ.)
Kyp Green (TCU, jazz)
Yuan Lu (TCU)
Dorin Marc (Musik Hochschule, Nuremberg)
Mark Morton (Texas Tech)
David Moore (USC & LA Phil.)
David Neubert (Austin Symphony)
Sandor Ostlund (Baylor University)
Brian Perry (Ft. Worth Symphony)
Frank Proto (bassist & composer)
Nicholas Scales (West Texas A&M Univ.)
Nicolas Tsolainos (Dallas Symphony)
Tian Rui Zhao (Shenyang Conservatory)

(*All artists subject to change.)
and by the following guest artist pianists:
John Owings (TCU) and Janet Pummill (TCU)

In addition to lectures, guest-artist recitals, presentations, masterclasses, and orchestral competition, the festival will also feature instrument luthiers to showcasing their instruments and double bass accessories for our students.

Fees: $30 for all participants (due by February 15); $15 for all auditors in advance or $20 at the door. Make checks payable to Texas Christian University, memo: Double Bass Festival. Photocopied registration forms will be accepted. Check-in will begin at 8:30am on Saturday, March 17, 2012 and the sessions will close at 6:00pm on Sunday, March 18. Participants will be accepted on a first come, first served basis to perform in one of the masterclasses.

Orchestral Competition Results:

First prize winner - Renaud Boucher-Browning: Student of Professor Paul Ellison at Rice University
Second prize winner - William Gowen: Student of Professor Yuan Lu at TCU
Third prize winner - Kevin Brown: Student of Professor Paul Ellison at Rice University

Honorable Mention - Peng Wang: Student of Professor Yuan Lu at TCU
Honorable Mention - Paul Ensey: Student of Mr. Robert Kassinger of the Chicago Symphony at DePaul University


Masterclasses and Recitals Webcast link

To make your registration payment, or for more information, please contact:

Charlene Smith
School of Music, Texas Christian University
TCU Box 297500 Fort Worth, TX 76129
Phone: (817) 257-7232 Fax: (817) 257-5818

For further questions, call professor Yuan Lu at Texas Christian University at (817) 257-4465.

DOWNLOAD Registration form

HOTEL information

COMPETITION information